Why Node.js + Express.js? (When there are better options)

Why Node.js + Express.js? (When there are better options)

ยท

1 min read

Modern web development is mostly about speed and scale, So, where does Node + Express stand?

Before learning Node + Express, I wanted to be sure that I was learning the right thing. I researched a bit about it and found out that there are many better options than Node + Express. It eats a lot of memory and CPU power. It is based on Javascript, which is a single threaded language and that affects Node's concurrency even if V8 Engine is real magic. For example, I found a comparison between Node and Golang on appventurez nodejS-vs-golang-comparison-table-1.jpg

Sorry MERN fanbois, I don't want to be 'MEAN' to you but that's the truth. Wait... that's not the end of the world, a lot of companies prefer Node because of it's simplicity and abundance of Node developers.

And guess what? I just finished my Node+Express lessons and it's time to practice the ()=>hell out of it. But before, I wanna look at MongoDB.

Check marks:

  • HTML5
  • CSS3
  • Materialize CSS
  • Git and Github
  • React
  • Node.js
  • Express.js
  • Webpack

Next steps:

  • MongoDB
  • Practice all the above
  • Typescript
  • Testing
  • Maybe DS & Algo (๐Ÿ˜‹)
ย